top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

Local Artists Changes Receptions in Merced County

MAH Magazine caught up with Eulalia Gámez at Coffee Bandits last Wednesday during her Meet and Greet Reception. Gámez thought she’d change things up a bit by inviting the community to join her for an afternoon of interactive art. Gámez was available from 3-9pm and had over 12 community members join her to share stories, inspiration, painting and drawings. While we were there we asked the artist a few questions.

How long have you been an artist?

I started as a singer in church when I was younger. Once I got into college I started painting more, I have been painting now for about 9 years.

What role does artists have in society?

Express the making of art so people can relate to the community and other people.

What is your favorite art subject?

Art for women and women in transition, I paint a lot of nudes. Not to objectify women, it’s not about the body or sexuality, it’s more of an expression.

What do you dislike about the art world?

I have had good experiences with art. I would like to see more artist work out side of the classroom and be inspired. I see a lot of still life drawings, which are usually just school work.

You are also into fashion, what inspired you to become a designer?

“I got into fashion because of my mom, she use to make all sorts of things sewing, embroidered and crotchet. She also has great taste in fashion. I mostly got into it because of my mom and dolls I had, I always wanted to change the dolls clothes and so I'd ask my mom to buy little dresses, she'd say no you can make it and gave me a needle and thread, I'd draw different outfits and cut up clothes for fabric. I was 7 or 8 when I started hand-sewing my own dresses for my dolls.”

Her inspiration in fashion right now is weavers of textiles in Guatemalan, they're rich color, intricacy and meaning. Also the shape and colors of Garifuna attire. A lot of inspiration is coming from Central America, along with modern line art. All of it will be connected to nature interaction with civilizations like buildings.

Gámez’s fashion can be seen August 26th at the MAH Epekel Plate Fashion Show fundraiser. This will be her third show helping Merced Art Hop with their fundraiser. Lulu will be working alongside four other designers to share their artiste flare on fashion in Merced. To see more of her art, inspirations’ and contact information visit: Eulalia Gámez


43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page